Vermont Marriage Laws
5166 - Certification by unauthorized person; penalty; validity of civil unions
(a) An unauthorized person who knowingly undertakes to join others in a civil union shall be imprisoned not more than six months or fined not more than $ 300.00 nor less than $ 100.00, or both. (b) A civil union certified before a person falsely professing to be a justice or a member of the clergy shall be valid, provided that the civil union is in other respects lawful, and that either of the parties to a civil union believed that he or she was lawfully joined in a civil union.◀︎ Back to Vermont Marriage Laws ︎︎︎︎︎◀︎ Back to Marriage Laws Home
HISTORY: Added 1999, No. 91 (Adj. Sess.), § 5.