10 Essential Facts to Know Before Officiating a Wedding in Vermont
The facts below cover all the important aspects of what requirements you need to meet to be able to legally officiate a wedding ceremony in Vermont.
Who Can Officiate Weddings in Vermont?
This is the relevant exerpt from the Vermont Statutes § 5144
" (a) Marriages may be solemnized by a supreme court justice, a superior judge, a judge of probate, an assistant judge, a justice of the peace, a magistrate, an individual who has registered as an officiant with the Vermont secretary of state pursuant to section 5144a of this title, a member of the clergy residing in this state and ordained or licensed, or otherwise regularly authorized thereunto by the published laws or discipline of the general conference, convention, or other authority of his or her faith or denomination, or by such a clergy person residing in an adjoining state or country, whose parish, church, temple, mosque, or other religious organization lies wholly or in part in this state, or by a member of the clergy residing in some other state of the United States or in the Dominion of Canada, provided he or she has first secured from the probate division of the superior court in the unit within which the marriage is to be solemnized a special authorization, authorizing him or her to certify the marriage if the probate judge determines that the circumstances make the special authorization desirable. Marriage among the Friends or Quakers, the Christadelphian Ecclesia, and the Baha'i Faith may be solemnized in the manner heretofore used in such societies.
Basically, this means that as long as you are ordained through any church, you can officiate weddings.
Are Online Ordinations Recognized in Vermont?
Yes. All online ordained ministers, including those ordained through AMM are recognized in Vermont.
Get Ordained Now
Is Government Registration Required to Officiate a Wedding in Vermont?
Maybe. Only non-residents of Vermont must register as officiants with the Vermont Judiciary before they officiate a wedding.
What Office Do I Register with Before Officiating a Wedding in Vermont?
The Vermont Judiciary in Vermont is responsible for officiant registration.
What is the Minimum Legal Age to Officiate a Wedding in Vermont?
All Wedding Officiants in Vermont must be at least 18 years old.
Does my Residency Affect the Registration Process?
Yes. If you do not live in Vermont, then you are required to register with the Vermont Judiciary.
Does the Vermont Government Provide an Application I Need to Complete?
Maybe. New Hampshire Residents do not have to complete any government application. If you do not live in New Hampshire, you must complete the Petition For Non-Resident Minister To Perform Marriage Ceremony.
Do I Need to Submit Proof of my Ministry Credentials to the Vermont Government?
Yes. You are required to submit an official copy of your Ministry Credentials to the Vermont Judiciary if you do not live in Vermont.
How Much Does the Officiant Registration Process Cost in Vermont?
It will cost you about $100 to register as a wedding officiant in Vermont.
How Long Does it Take to Register as a Wedding Officiant in Vermont?
You should receive notice of approval from the Vermont Judiciary in about one week.
For a more detailed guide on how to complete the officiant registration process in Vermont, check out our Vermont Officiant Registration page by clicking the button below.