Vermont Marriage Laws
5139 - Clerk's duties; penalty
A town clerk who knowingly issues a civil marriage license upon application of a person residing in another town in the state, or a county clerk who knowingly issues a civil marriage license upon application of a person other than as provided in section 5005 of this title, or a clerk who issues such a license without first requiring the applicant to fill out, sign and make oath to the declaration contained therein as provided in section 5131 of this title, shall be fined not more than $ 50.00 nor less than $ 20.00.◀︎ Back to Vermont Marriage Laws ︎︎︎︎︎◀︎ Back to Marriage Laws Home
HISTORY: Amended 2009, No. 3, § 12a, eff. Sept. 1, 2009.