Stay up to date with the latest wedding ceremony trends, script writing inspiration, tips and advice for first-time officiants, and news that matters to couples and wedding ministers.

Meditation for Ministers: Align Your Chakras for Wedding Season (and Beyond)

Published Thursday, Jun. 16th, 2022


Cleanse those chakras for clear communication, focus, and calm on the wedding day! 



In ancient faiths, chakras are the energetic centers of the body – seven points of spiritual power that run from from the top of the head to the base of the spine. 


Each chakra is located in a specific place within the body, and corresponds to a specific color and spiritual principle or quality.


When all of these seven sacred chakras are ‘open,’ energy moves easily throughout the body, creating a sense of harmony, happiness, and good health. 


Unfortunately, chakras can easily become ‘blocked’ as a result of acute or chronic stress, poor health habits, physical injury, or emotional pain. 


When one or more chakras is ‘blocked’ in this way, energy cannot flow freely and becomes ‘stuck’ in points around the affected chakra, creating imbalances within the body and spirit.



For busy marriage ministers and wedding officiants, imbalances caused by blocked chakras can show up in all sorts of unfortunate ways: 



  • feeling tired and run down
  • feeling unfocused and anxious
  • speaking too quickly or too loudly during a ceremony
  • sore throat
  • discomfort while standing and lower back pain
  • nausea 
  • irritability and impatience with couples, guests, and other vendors
  • feeling jaded toward love and romance
  • and more

With a hectic wedding season ahead, many ministers may benefit from chakra meditation, which is thought to cleanse and ‘unblock’ the body’s energy centers. 



There are several types of chakra meditation to try. We describe three of our favorite techniques below. 




The Seven Chakras


illustration of the seven chakras on the body, from crown to root

Root chakra (muladhara): Red, Base of spine, Relates to money, safety, stability, security, family, basic needs

Sacral chakra (svadhisthana): Orange, Lower abdomen, Relates to sexuality, creative expression, pleasure

Solar plexus chakra (manipura): Yellow, Upper abdomen, Relates to self-esteem, self worth, confidence, feelings of control and ability

Heart chakra (anahata): Green, Chest, Relates to love, joy, feelings of connection and value, compassion, empathy, forgiveness

Throat chakra (vishuddha): Blue, Center of the neck, Relates to communication, speech and speaking, self expression, authenticity 

Third eye chakra (ajna): Purple, Behind the brow / forehead between the eyes, Relates to imagination, wisdom, intuition, prophetic thought, enlightenment

Crown chakra (sahasrara): White / Ultra-violet, Top of head, Relates to spiritual connection, transformation, divinity  



Three simple Chakra meditation techniques:  



1. Focus on a single chakra 


If you can easily identify which chakras are affected, then meditating on a single chakra may be most helpful. To do this, focus on this center of the body and the spiritual qualities and color it represents, while breathing deeply and calmly. As you meditate, you will feel this chakra slowly become unblocked as energy begins to flow through it. 



2. Chakra color meditation 


When using color meditation, slowly visualize each chakra’s color, one at a time. Focus your breath on each color in turn, moving from the crown to the root chakra, and then back up from the root to the crown. You may feel your attention or focus ‘stick’ to certain colors – breathe into these slowly. Continue this process slowly until there is a sense of calm and flow within the body. 



3. Energy flow meditation


During this meditation, visualize energy moving slowly along the path of the seven chakras, from each point along the body to the next. Pay attention to any areas where this energy feels stuck, or areas in the body that feel uncomfortable, or too hot or too cold, and breathe into the closest chakra before continuing the visualization. Continue until you can sense the energy moving freely and easily – this may take several sessions of meditation to accomplish.




Where does the belief in chakras come from?


Chakras were first described in The Veda texts, a series of religious texts written in Vedic Sanskrit from ancient India. Chakras (or cakra) are an integral part of spiritual practice in Hinduism and Tantric Buddhism, as well as many modern eclectic spiritual traditions. 




You might also like: 




Browse Meditation for Ministers Articles



How To Officiate By State

Will You Marry Us? Gift Package

Who Will Officiate Your Wedding?

Choose Your Officiant with our "Will You Marry Us?" Gift Package.

Signature Wedding Officiant Package

Signature Wedding Officiant Package

Our premiere package contains everyting you need to officiate like a pro.

The Book of Wedding Vows and Ceremonies

The Book of Wedding Vows and Ceremonies

It's finally here! Timeless scripts and heartfelt vow inspiration to bring life to your ceremony.

Professional Wedding Officiant Certification Course

Learn from the Pros to Officiate with Confidence!

Wedding Officiant Training

Wedding Officiant Training

Everything you need to know to officiate.

Read our sample wedding ceremony scripts online

Sample Wedding Ceremony Scripts

Need inspiration? Check out our free ceremony scripts!

Subscribe To Our Newsletter!


Become a Wedding Officiant with Our Free Online Ordination!