Nevada Officiant Government Registration Requirements
Learn what the marriage officiant registration requirements are in Nevada. This page covers everything you need to know to legally officiate wedding ceremonies in Nevada.
Who can officiate weddings in Nevada?
1. Any licensed, ordained or appointed minister or other person authorized to solemnize a marriage in good standing within his or her church or religious organization, or either of them, incorporated, organized or established in this State, may join together as husband and wife persons who present a marriage license obtained from any county clerk of the State, if the minister or other person authorized to solemnize a marriage first obtains a certificate of permission to perform marriages as provided in NRS 122.062 to 122.073, inclusive. The fact that a minister or other person authorized to solemnize a marriage is retired does not disqualify him or her from obtaining a certificate of permission to perform marriages if, before retirement, the minister or other person authorized to solemnize a marriage had active charge of a church or religious organization for a period of at least 3 years.
Nevada Revised Statutes § NRS 122.062
Are online ordained ministers recognized in Nevada?
Yes. All online ordained ministers, including those ordained through AMM are recognized in Nevada.
Get Ordained Now
Am I as the minister officiant required to register with the Nevada Government?
Yes. All officiants in Nevada must register with the Local County Clerk before they officiate a wedding. This must be the Clerk in the jurisdiction where the wedding is taking place.4.
What Nevada office handles officiant registration?
The Local County Clerk in Nevada is responsible for officiant registration.5.
How old do I have to be to officiate a wedding in Nevada?
All Wedding Officiants in Nevada must be at least 18 years old.6.
Does my residency affect the registration process?
Yes. If you are not a US Citizen, then you may experience complications. All US Citizens, no matter where they reside can perform marriage in Nevada.7.
Do I need to complete a government application before officiating a wedding?
Yes. Each County in Nevada has their own officiant registration application process. Check out our Nevada County pages below for more information.8.
Do I need to submit proof of my ministry credentials to the Nevada government?
Depends on the County. In most counties you are required to submit an official copy of your Ministry Credentials to the Local County Clerk.9.
How much does the officiant registration process cost in Nevada?
It will cost you about $25 - $100 to register as a wedding officiant in Nevada.10.
How long does it take to register as a wedding officiant in Nevada?
Depends on the County. We recommend that you begin your registration at least 4 - 6 weeks before the wedding.