10 Essential Facts to Know Before Officiating a Wedding in Nevada
The facts below cover all the important aspects of what requirements you need to meet to be able to legally officiate a wedding ceremony in Nevada.
Who Can Officiate Weddings in Nevada?
This is the relevant exerpt from the Nevada Revised Statutes § NRS 122.062
" 1. Any licensed, ordained or appointed minister or other person authorized to solemnize a marriage in good standing within his or her church or religious organization, or either of them, incorporated, organized or established in this State, may join together as husband and wife persons who present a marriage license obtained from any county clerk of the State, if the minister or other person authorized to solemnize a marriage first obtains a certificate of permission to perform marriages as provided in NRS 122.062 to 122.073, inclusive. The fact that a minister or other person authorized to solemnize a marriage is retired does not disqualify him or her from obtaining a certificate of permission to perform marriages if, before retirement, the minister or other person authorized to solemnize a marriage had active charge of a church or religious organization for a period of at least 3 years.
Basically, this means that as long as you are ordained through any church, you can officiate weddings.
Are Online Ordinations Recognized in Nevada?
Yes. All online ordained ministers, including those ordained through AMM are recognized in Nevada.
Get Ordained Now
Is Government Registration Required to Officiate a Wedding in Nevada?
Yes. All officiants in Nevada must register with the Local County Clerk before they officiate a wedding. This must be the Clerk in the jurisdiction where the wedding is taking place.
What Office Do I Register with Before Officiating a Wedding in Nevada?
The Local County Clerk in Nevada is responsible for officiant registration.
What is the Minimum Legal Age to Officiate a Wedding in Nevada?
All Wedding Officiants in Nevada must be at least 18 years old.
Does my Residency Affect the Registration Process?
Yes. If you are not a US Citizen, then you may experience complications. All US Citizens, no matter where they reside can perform marriage in Nevada.
Does the Nevada Government Provide an Application I Need to Complete?
Yes. Each County in Nevada has their own officiant registration application process. Check out our Nevada County pages below for more information.
Do I Need to Submit Proof of my Ministry Credentials to the Nevada Government?
Depends on the County. In most counties you are required to submit an official copy of your Ministry Credentials to the Local County Clerk.
How Much Does the Officiant Registration Process Cost in Nevada?
It will cost you about $25 - $100 to register as a wedding officiant in Nevada.
How Long Does it Take to Register as a Wedding Officiant in Nevada?
Depends on the County. We recommend that you begin your registration at least 4 - 6 weeks before the wedding.
For a more detailed guide on how to complete the officiant registration process in Nevada, check out our Nevada Officiant Registration page by clicking the button below.