Arkansas Marriage Laws
9-11-216 - Solemnization contrary to law -- Penalty
(a) Any person who presumes to solemnize marriage in this state contrary to the provisions of this act shall be adjudged guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction shall be fined in any sum not less than one hundred dollars ($100) nor more than five hundred dollars ($500). (b) The fine imposed by subsection (a) of this section shall be paid when collected into the general fund of the county in which the offense was committed.◀︎ Back to Arkansas Marriage Laws ︎︎︎︎︎◀︎ Back to Marriage Laws Home
HISTORY: Acts 1875, No. 127, § 8 (last part), p. 260; C. & M. Dig., § 7066; Pope's Dig., § 9048; A.S.A. 1947, § 55-217; Acts 1999, No. 1540, § 3.