Virginia Marriage Officiant Government Registration Requirements
Learn what the marriage officiant registration requirements are in Virginia. This page covers everything you need to know to legally officiate wedding ceremonies in Virginia.
Who can officiate weddings in Virginia?
All marriages heretofore solemnized outside this Commonwealth by a minister authorized to celebrate the rites of marriage in this Commonwealth, under a license issued in this Commonwealth, and showing on the application therefor the place out of this Commonwealth where said marriage is to be performed, shall be valid as if such marriage had been performed in this Commonwealth.
Code of Virginia § 20-37.1
Are online ordained ministers recognized in Virginia?
Minister registration in Virginia is done at the county level. Though there are no laws forbidding online ordained ministers from officiating weddings, select individuals in the Virginia Government have made it inordinately difficult for online ordained ministers to successfully register. Continue reading for more information.3.
Am I as the minister officiant required to register with the Virginia Government?
Yes. All officiants in Virginia must register with a County Clerk before they officiate a wedding.4.
What Virginia office handles officiant registration?
The County Clerk in Virginia is responsible for officiant registration.5.
How old do I have to be to officiate a wedding in Virginia?
All Wedding Officiants in Virginia must be at least 18 years old.6.
Does my residency affect the registration process?
No. Your state or country of residence is irrelevant to the officiant registration process in Virginia.7.
Do I need to complete a government application before officiating a wedding?
Maybe. This is up to the discretion of each County Clerk.8.
Do I need to submit proof of my ministry credentials to the Virginia government?
Depends on the County. In most counties you are required to submit an official copy of your Ministry Credentials to the County Clerk.9.
How much does the officiant registration process cost in Virginia?
It will cost you about $50 to register as a wedding officiant in Virginia.10.
How long does it take to register as a wedding officiant in Virginia?
Depends. We recommend that you begin your registration at least 90 days before the wedding.