10 Essential Facts to Know Before Officiating a Wedding in Virginia
The facts below cover all the important aspects of what requirements you need to meet to be able to legally officiate a wedding ceremony in Virginia.
Who Can Officiate Weddings in Virginia?
This is the relevant exerpt from the Code of Virginia § 20-23.
" All marriages heretofore solemnized outside this Commonwealth by a minister authorized to celebrate the rites of marriage in this Commonwealth, under a license issued in this Commonwealth, and showing on the application therefor the place out of this Commonwealth where said marriage is to be performed, shall be valid as if such marriage had been performed in this Commonwealth. "
Basically, this means that as long as you are ordained through any church, you can officiate weddings.
Are Online Ordinations Recognized in Virginia?
Minister registration in Virginia is done at the county level. Though there are no laws forbidding online ordained ministers from officiating weddings, select individuals in the Virginia Government have made it inordinately difficult for online ordained ministers to successfully register. Continue reading for more information.
Is Government Registration Required to Officiate a Wedding in Virginia?
Yes. All officiants in Virginia must register with a Superior Court before they officiate a wedding.
What Office Do I Register with Before Officiating a Wedding in Virginia?
The Superior Court in Virginia is responsible for officiant registration.
What is the Minimum Legal Age to Officiate a Wedding in Virginia?
All Wedding Officiants in Virginia must be at least 18 years old.
Does my Residency Affect the Registration Process?
No. Your state or country of residence is irrelevant to the officiant registration process in Virginia.
Does the Virginia Government Provide an Application I Need to Complete?
Contact Local Office.
This is up to the discretion of each Superior Court.
Do I Need to Submit Proof of my Ministry Credentials to the Virginia Government?
Depends on the County. In most counties you are required to submit an official copy of your Ministry Credentials to the Superior Court.
How Much Does the Officiant Registration Process Cost in Virginia?
It will cost you about $50 to register as a wedding officiant in Virginia.
How Long Does it Take to Register as a Wedding Officiant in Virginia?
Depends on County. Registration times vary widely across the state.
For a more detailed guide on how to complete the officiant registration process in Virginia, check out our Virginia Officiant Registration page by clicking the button below.