Oklahoma Marriage Officiant Government Registration Requirements
Learn what the marriage officiant registration requirements are in Oklahoma. This page covers everything you need to know to legally officiate wedding ceremonies in Oklahoma.
Who can officiate weddings in Oklahoma?
A. All marriages must be contracted by a formal ceremony performed or solemnized in the presence of at least two adult, competent persons as witnesses, by a judge or retired judge of any court in this state, or an ordained or authorized preacher or minister of the Gospel, priest or other ecclesiastical dignitary of any denomination who has been duly ordained or authorized by the church to which he or she belongs to preach the Gospel, or a rabbi and who is at least eighteen (18) years of age.
Oklahoma Statutes §43-7
Are online ordained ministers recognized in Oklahoma?
Yes. All online ordained ministers, including those ordained through AMM are recognized in Oklahoma.
Get Ordained Now
Am I as the minister officiant required to register with the Oklahoma Government?
Yes. All officiants in Oklahoma must register with the Local County Clerk before they officiate a wedding. This must be the Clerk in the jurisdiction where the wedding is taking place.4.
What Oklahoma office handles officiant registration?
The Local County Clerk in Oklahoma is responsible for officiant registration.5.
How old do I have to be to officiate a wedding in Oklahoma?
All Wedding Officiants in Oklahoma must be at least 18 years old.6.
Does my residency affect the registration process?
No. Your state or country of residence is irrelevant to the officiant registration process in Oklahoma.7.
Do I need to complete a government application before officiating a wedding?
Probably. This is up to the discretion of each Local County Clerk.8.
Do I need to submit proof of my ministry credentials to the Oklahoma government?
Yes. You are required to submit an official copy of your Ministry Credentials to the Local County Clerk.9.
How much does the officiant registration process cost in Oklahoma?
It will cost you about $50 to register as a wedding officiant in Oklahoma.10.
How long does it take to register as a wedding officiant in Oklahoma?
Depends. We recommend that you begin your registration at least 30 days before the wedding.