GET ORDAINED

10 Essential Facts to Know Before Officiating a Wedding in Oklahoma

The facts below cover all the important aspects of what requirements you need to meet to be able to legally officiate a wedding ceremony in Oklahoma.

1.

Who Can Officiate Weddings in Oklahoma?

This is the relevant exerpt from the Oklahoma Statutes §43-7 .

" A. All marriages must be contracted by a formal ceremony performed or solemnized in the presence of at least two adult, competent persons as witnesses, by a judge or retired judge of any court in this state, or an ordained or authorized preacher or minister of the Gospel, priest or other ecclesiastical dignitary of any denomination who has been duly ordained or authorized by the church to which he or she belongs to preach the Gospel, or a rabbi and who is at least eighteen (18) years of age. "

Basically, this means that as long as you are ordained through any church, you can officiate weddings.

2.

Are Online Ordinations Recognized in Oklahoma?

Yes. All online ordained ministers, including those ordained through AMM are recognized in Oklahoma.

Get Ordained Now

3.

Is Government Registration Required to Officiate a Wedding in Oklahoma?

Yes. All officiants in Oklahoma must register with the Local County Clerk before they officiate a wedding. This must be the Clerk in the jurisdiction where the wedding is taking place.

4.

What Office Do I Register with Before Officiating a Wedding in Oklahoma?

The Local County Clerk in Oklahoma is responsible for officiant registration.

5.

What is the Minimum Legal Age to Officiate a Wedding in Oklahoma?

All Wedding Officiants in Oklahoma must be at least 18 years old.

6.

Does my Residency Affect the Registration Process?

No. Your state or country of residence is irrelevant to the officiant registration process in Oklahoma.

7.

Does the Oklahoma Government Provide an Application I Need to Complete?

Probably. This is up to the discretion of each Local County Clerk.

8.

Do I Need to Submit Proof of my Ministry Credentials to the Oklahoma Government?

Yes. You are required to submit an official copy of your Ministry Credentials to the Local County Clerk.

9.

How Much Does the Officiant Registration Process Cost in Oklahoma?

It will cost you about $50 to register as a wedding officiant in Oklahoma.

10.

How Long Does it Take to Register as a Wedding Officiant in Oklahoma?

Depends. We recommend that you begin your registration at least 30 days before the wedding.


Oklahoma Officiant Registration Step-by-Step Instructions

For a more detailed guide on how to complete the officiant registration process in Oklahoma, check out our Oklahoma Officiant Registration page by clicking the button below.


OFFICIANT REGISTRATION GUIDE FOR OKLAHOMA

OFFICIANT GOVERNMENT REGISTRATION BY STATE

Oklahoma City Guides

  1. Broken Arrow
  2. Norman
  3. Oklahoma City
  4. Tulsa

Professional Wedding Officiant Certification Course

Learn from the Pros to Officiate with Confidence!

Who Will Officiate Your Wedding?

Choose Your Officiant with our "Will You Marry Us?" Gift Package.

Signature Wedding Officiant Package

Our premiere package contains everyting you need to officiate like a pro.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter!

Checkout the AMM Blog

Stay up-to-date with the latest wedding industry trends.

Sample Wedding Ceremony Scripts

Need inspiration? Check out our free ceremony scripts!

Wedding Officiant Training

Wedding Officiant Training

Everything you need to know to officiate.

Take Our Quiz

Test your understanding of Oklahoma Marriage Laws.

MORE Oklahoma OFFICIANT RESOURCES

GET ORDAINED
WITH AMM

Become a Wedding Officiant with Our Free Online Ordination!