New Hampshire Marriage Officiant Government Registration Requirements
Learn what the marriage officiant registration requirements are in New Hampshire. This page covers everything you need to know to legally officiate wedding ceremonies in New Hampshire.
Who can officiate weddings in New Hampshire?
A marriage may be solemnized in the following manner:
I. In a civil ceremony by a justice of the peace as commissioned by the state and by judges of the United States appointed pursuant to Article III of the United States Constitution, by bankruptcy judges appointed pursuant to Article I of the United States Constitution, or by United States magistrate judges appointed pursuant to federal law; or
II. In a religious ceremony by any minister of the gospel in the state who has been ordained according to the usage of his or her denomination, resides in the state, and is in regular standing with the denomination; by any member of the clergy who is not ordained but is engaged in the service of the religious body to which he or she belongs, and who resides in the state, after being licensed therefor by the secretary of state; or within his or her parish, by any minister residing out of the state, but having a pastoral charge wholly or partly in this state. "
New Hampshire Statutes § Section 45731
Are online ordained ministers recognized in New Hampshire?
Yes. All online ordained ministers, including those ordained through AMM are recognized in New Hampshire.
Get Ordained Now
Am I as the minister officiant required to register with the New Hampshire Government?
Maybe. Only non-residents of New Hampshire must register as officiants with the Secretary of State before they officiate a wedding.4.
What New Hampshire office handles officiant registration?
The Secretary of State in New Hampshire is responsible for officiant registration.5.
How old do I have to be to officiate a wedding in New Hampshire?
All Wedding Officiants in New Hampshire must be at least 18 years old.6.
Does my residency affect the registration process?
Yes. If you do not live in New Hampshire, then you are required to register with the Secretary of State.7.
Do I need to complete a government application before officiating a wedding?
Maybe. New Hampshire Residents do not have to complete any government application. If you do not live in New Hampshire, you must complete the Application To Perform a Marriage Ceremony In New Hampshire.8.
Do I need to submit proof of my ministry credentials to the New Hampshire government?
No. However it is a good idea to keep personal copies of your Ministry Credentials for your own records.9.
How much does the officiant registration process cost in New Hampshire?
It will cost you about $25 to register as a wedding officiant in New Hampshire.10.
How long does it take to register as a wedding officiant in New Hampshire?
Expect your registration to take about 2 weeks.