10 Essential Facts to Know Before Officiating a Wedding in New Hampshire
The facts below cover all the important aspects of what requirements you need to meet to be able to legally officiate a wedding ceremony in New Hampshire.
Who Can Officiate Weddings in New Hampshire?
This is the relevant exerpt from the New Hampshire Statutes § 457:31.
" A marriage may be solemnized in the following manner:
I. In a civil ceremony by a justice of the peace as commissioned by the state and by judges of the United States appointed pursuant to Article III of the United States Constitution, by bankruptcy judges appointed pursuant to Article I of the United States Constitution, or by United States magistrate judges appointed pursuant to federal law; or
II. In a religious ceremony by any minister of the gospel in the state who has been ordained according to the usage of his or her denomination, resides in the state, and is in regular standing with the denomination; by any member of the clergy who is not ordained but is engaged in the service of the religious body to which he or she belongs, and who resides in the state, after being licensed therefor by the secretary of state; or within his or her parish, by any minister residing out of the state, but having a pastoral charge wholly or partly in this state. "
Basically, this means that as long as you are ordained through any church, you can officiate weddings.
Are Online Ordinations Recognized in New Hampshire?
Yes. All online ordained ministers, including those ordained through AMM are recognized in New Hampshire.
Get Ordained Now
Is Government Registration Required to Officiate a Wedding in New Hampshire?
Maybe. Only non-residents of New Hampshire must register as officiants with the Secretary of State before they officiate a wedding.
What Office Do I Register with Before Officiating a Wedding in New Hampshire?
The Secretary of State in New Hampshire is responsible for officiant registration.
What is the Minimum Legal Age to Officiate a Wedding in New Hampshire?
All Wedding Officiants in New Hampshire must be at least 18 years old.
Does my Residency Affect the Registration Process?
Yes. If you do not live in New Hampshire, then you are required to register with the Secretary of State.
Does the New Hampshire Government Provide an Application I Need to Complete?
Do I Need to Submit Proof of my Ministry Credentials to the New Hampshire Government?
No. However it is a good idea to keep personal copies of your Ministry Credentials for your own records.
How Much Does the Officiant Registration Process Cost in New Hampshire?
It will cost you about $25 to register as a wedding officiant in New Hampshire.
How Long Does it Take to Register as a Wedding Officiant in New Hampshire?
Expect your registration to take Up To 14 Days.
For a more detailed guide on how to complete the officiant registration process in New Hampshire, check out our New Hampshire Officiant Registration page by clicking the button below.