Wisconsin Marriage Laws § 765.02Marriageable age; who may contract.
Read the full Wisconsin Statutes Marriage Law § 765.02 at American Marriage Ministries. Last updated on Monday, February 2, 2021.
Wisconsin Statutes 765.02
(1) Every person who has attained the age of 18 years may marry if otherwise competent. (2) If a person is between the age of 16 and 18 years, a marriage license may be issued with the written consent of the person's parents, guardian, custodian under s. 767.225 (1) or 767.41, or parent having the actual care, custody and control of the person. The written consent must be given before the county clerk under oath, or certified in writing and verified by affidavit or affirmation before a notary public or other official authorized to take affidavits. The written consent shall be filed with the county clerk at the time of application for a marriage license. If there is no guardian, parent or custodian or if the custodian is an agency or department, the written consent may be given, after notice to any agency or department appointed as custodian and hearing proper cause shown, by the court having probate jurisdiction.
1971 c. 149; 1971 c. 213 s. 5; 1975 c. 39, 94, 200; 1979 c. 32 ss. 48, 92 (4); Stats. 1979 s. 765.02; 1981 c. 20 s. 2200; 1999 a. 85; 2005 a. 443 s. 265.
Become a Wedding Officiant with Our Free Online Ordination!