Delaware Marriage Laws

§ 118 - Failure to return certificate of marriage to clerk of the peace for recording; penalty


Related Pages

APPLY FOR ORDINATION

Delaware Code - Title 13: Domestic Relations - Chapter 1: Marriage - Subchapter I: General Provisions

Failure to return certificate of marriage to clerk of the peace for recording; penalty


(a) Any person officiating a marriage in this State who fails to return the certificate of marriage to the issuing clerk of the peace for recording within 15 days of the marriage ceremony shall be assessed a $50 late fee by the issuing clerk of the peace. (b) Any person with an unpaid civil penalty assessed by a clerk of the peace shall have that person's authorization to solemnize marriages in the State suspended until such penalty is paid in full.

◀︎ Back to Delaware Marriage Laws ︎︎︎︎︎◀︎ Back to Marriage Laws Home



27 Del. Laws, c. 261, § 5; Code 1915, § 2996; 32 Del. Laws, c. 182, § 1; 38 Del. Laws, c. 161, § 1; Code 1935, § 3489; 13 Del. C. 1953, § 118; 54 Del. Laws, c. 126, § 11; 70 Del. Laws, c. 186, § 1; 77 Del. Laws, c. 140, § 1.;


Law Reference:
§ 118


Law Tag:



Will You
Marry Us?

The wedding gift package revolutionizing how you choose your officiant!

Learn More

Signature
Wedding Officiant Package

Everything you need to Officiate Weddings like pro!

Learn More

Minister Ordination
Package

Our most popular package contains everything you need to officiate your first wedding.

Order Now

Ocean
Conservancy

AMM supports Ocean Conservancy. Check them out!

Donate Now
APPLY FOR ORDINATION