Kansas Officiant Government Registration Requirements
Learn what the marriage officiant registration requirements are in Kansas. This page covers everything you need to know to legally officiate wedding ceremonies in Kansas.
Who can officiate weddings in Kansas?
(a) Marriage may be validly solemnized and contracted in this state, after a license has been issued for the marriage, in the following manner: By the mutual declarations of the two parties to be joined in marriage, made before an authorized officiating person and in the presence of at least two competent witnesses over 18 years of age, other than the officiating person, that they take each other as husband and wife.
(b) The following are authorized to be officiating persons:
(1) Any currently ordained clergyman or religious authority of any religious denomination or society; "
Kansas Statutes § 23-104a
Are online ordained ministers recognized in Kansas?
Yes. All online ordained ministers, including those ordained through AMM are recognized in Kansas.
Get Ordained Now
Am I as the minister officiant required to register with the Kansas Government?
The Kansas Government does not license, register, or certify ministers or wedding officiants. Officiant registration is not required in Kansas to officiate a wedding.4.
What Kansas office handles officiant registration?
The Kansas Government does not have any office that licenses, registers, or certifies wedding officiants.5.
How old do I have to be to officiate a wedding in Kansas?
All Wedding Officiants in Kansas must be at least 18 years old.