New Mexico Marriage Laws

40-1-19 - Offenses; penalty


Related Pages

APPLY FOR ORDINATION

New Mexico Statutes Annotated ? Chapter 40: Domestic Affairs ? Article 1: Marriage in General

Offenses; penalty


Any county clerk, or person authorized by law to perform the marriage ceremony, who shall neglect or fail to comply with the provisions of the eight preceding sections, and any person who shall willfully violate the law by deceiving or attempting to deceive or mislead any officer or person authorized to perform the marriage ceremony in order to obtain a marriage license or to be married, contrary to law, shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction be fined in any sum not less than fifty dollars [($50.00)] nor more than one hundred dollars [($100)], or by imprisonment in the county jail for not less than ten days nor more than sixty days or by both fine and imprisonment, in the discretion of the court.

◀︎ Back to New Mexico Marriage Laws ︎︎︎︎︎◀︎ Back to Marriage Laws Home




Law Reference:
40-1-19


Law Tag:



Will You
Marry Us?

The wedding gift package revolutionizing how you choose your officiant!

Learn More

Signature
Wedding Officiant Package

Everything you need to Officiate Weddings like pro!

Learn More

Minister Ordination
Package

Our most popular package contains everything you need to officiate your first wedding.

Order Now

Ocean
Conservancy

AMM supports Ocean Conservancy. Check them out!

Donate Now
APPLY FOR ORDINATION