Maine Marriage Laws

Maine Revised Statutes 19-A:652 - Issuance of marriage license

GET ORDAINED
WITH AMM

Become a Wedding Officiant with Our Free Online Ordination!

Issuance of marriage license

1. Marriage license issued. After the filing of notice of intentions of marriage, except as otherwise provided, the clerk or the State Registrar of Vital Statistics shall deliver to the parties a marriage license specifying the time when the intentions were recorded. [PL 2019, c. 340, §8 (AMD).] 2. Marriage license to nonresidents. [PL 2001, c. 574, §4 (RP).] 3. Void after 90 days. The license is void if not used within 90 days from the day the intentions were filed in accordance with section 651. [PL 2019, c. 340, §9 (AMD).] 4. Expedited procedure. [PL 2001, c. 574, §4 (RP).] 5. Informational brochure. A marriage license may not be issued until a brochure prepared by the Department of Health and Human Services concerning the effects of alcohol and drugs on fetuses has been given to both parties. The department is responsible for making the brochures available to municipal clerks for distribution. [PL 1995, c. 694, Pt. B, §2 (NEW); PL 1995, c. 694, Pt. E, §2 (AFF); PL 2001, c. 354, §3 (AMD); PL 2003, c. 689, Pt. B, §6 (REV).] 6. Related parties. A marriage license may not be issued to parties related as described in section 701, subsection 2, unless the clerk or State Registrar of Vital Statistics has received from the parties the physician's certificate of genetic counseling required by section 651. [PL 2019, c. 340, §10 (AMD).] 7. Parties under 18 years of age. A marriage license may not be issued to persons under 18 years of age without the written consent of their parents, guardians or persons to whom a court has given custody. In the absence of persons qualified to give consent, the judge of probate in the county where each minor resides may grant consent after notice and opportunity for hearing. [PL 2019, c. 340, §10 (AMD).] 8. Parties under 16 years of age. The clerk or State Registrar of Vital Statistics may not issue a marriage license to a person under 16 years of age. A. [PL 2019, c. 535, §1 (RP).] B. [PL 2019, c. 535, §1 (RP).] C. [PL 2019, c. 535, §1 (RP).] [PL 2019, c. 340, §11 (AMD); PL 2019, c. 535, §1 (AMD).]

PL 1995, c. 694, §B2 (NEW). PL 1995, c. 694, §E2 (AFF). PL 1997, c. 507, §1 (AMD). PL 1997, c. 507, §4 (AFF). PL 1997, c. 683, §E5 (AMD). PL 1997, c. 683, §E6 (AFF). PL 2001, c. 354, §3 (AMD). PL 2001, c. 574, §§3,4 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 689, §B6 (REV). PL 2019, c. 340, §§8-11 (AMD). PL 2019, c. 535, §1 (AMD).

Marriage Law Tag(s)

RELATED STATE PAGES

GET ORDAINED
WITH AMM

Become a Wedding Officiant with Our Free Online Ordination!