GET ORDAINED

Alabama Code 30-1-5

Consent of parents required for marriage of certain minors.

If a person intending to marry is at least 16 years of age and under 18 years of age and has not had a former wife or husband, the consent of a parent or guardian of the minor to the marriage shall be required. Evidence of consent shall be in the form of an affidavit signed by a parent or guardian, notarized, and filed with the probate court.

(Code 1852, §1950; Code 1867, §2339; Code 1876, §2678; Code 1886, §2315; Code 1896, §2845; Code 1907, §4885; Code 1923, §8999; Code 1940, T. 34, §10; Act 2003-150, p. 454, §1; Act 2019-340, §1.)

Marriage Law Tag(s)
parental consent; marriage of minors

Back to Alabama Marriage Laws

More Alabama Marriage Laws



Marriage Laws by State

Professional Wedding Officiant Certification Course

Learn from the Pros to Officiate with Confidence!

Who Will Officiate Your Wedding?

Choose Your Officiant with our "Will You Marry Us?" Gift Package.

Signature Wedding Officiant Package

Our premiere package contains everyting you need to officiate like a pro.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter!

Checkout the AMM Blog

Stay up-to-date with the latest wedding industry trends.

Sample Wedding Ceremony Scripts

Need inspiration? Check out our free ceremony scripts!

Wedding Officiant Training

Wedding Officiant Training

Everything you need to know to officiate.

MORE Alabama OFFICIANT RESOURCES

GET ORDAINED
WITH AMM

Become a Wedding Officiant with Our Free Online Ordination!