GET ORDAINED

State of Rhode Island General Laws 15-2-9

License fee – Presentation of license to person performing ceremony.

For issuing the license the town or city clerk shall collect a fee of fourteen dollars ($14.00). The license shall be presented to the minister, elder, justice, warden, or other person who performs the marriage ceremony. The city or town shall retain six dollars ($6.00) of the fourteen dollars ($14.00) for its own use and in lieu of any reimbursement to which it may be entitled pursuant to § 45-13-7. The city or town shall forward the eight dollars ($8.00) balance of the fourteen dollars ($14.00) to the general treasurer of the state of Rhode Island.

(G.L. 1896, ch. 191, § 10; P.L. 1898, ch. 549, § 1; G.L. 1909, ch. 243, § 10; P.L. 1909, ch. 430, § 1; G.L. 1923, ch. 287, § 10; P.L. 1927, ch. 1064, § 1; P.L. 1938, ch. 2580, § 1; G.L. 1938, ch. 415, § 10; G.L. 1956, § 15-2-9; P.L. 1961, ch. 100, § 1; P.L. 1971, ch. 230, § 1; P.L. 1981, ch. 414, § 1; P.L. 1990, ch. 65, art. 59, § 1.)


Back to Rhode Island Marriage Laws

More Rhode Island Marriage Laws



Marriage Laws by State

Professional Wedding Officiant Certification Course

Learn from the Pros to Officiate with Confidence!

Who Will Officiate Your Wedding?

Choose Your Officiant with our "Will You Marry Us?" Gift Package.

Signature Wedding Officiant Package

Our premiere package contains everyting you need to officiate like a pro.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter!

Checkout the AMM Blog

Stay up-to-date with the latest wedding industry trends.

Sample Wedding Ceremony Scripts

Need inspiration? Check out our free ceremony scripts!

Wedding Officiant Training

Wedding Officiant Training

Everything you need to know to officiate.

MORE Rhode Island OFFICIANT RESOURCES

GET ORDAINED
WITH AMM

Become a Wedding Officiant with Our Free Online Ordination!