New Jersey Marriage Laws
37:1-6 - Consent for minors; requirements
A marriage or civil union license shall not be issued to a minor under the age of 18 years, unless the parents or guardian of the minor, if there be any, first certify under their hands and seals, in the presence of two reputable witnesses, their consent thereto, which consent shall be delivered to the licensing officer issuing the license. If the parents, or either of them, or guardian of any such minor shall be of unsound mind, the consent of such parent or guardian to the proposed marriage or civil union shall not be required. When a minor is under the age of 16 years, the consent required by this section must be approved in writing by any judge of the Superior Court, Chancery Division, Family Part. Said approval shall be filed with the licensing officer. The licensing officer shall transmit to the State registrar all such consents, orders, and approvals so received by him in the same manner and subject to the same penalty as in the case of certificates of marriage or civil union and marriage or civil union licenses.◀︎ Back to New Jersey Marriage Laws ︎︎︎︎︎◀︎ Back to Marriage Laws Home
Amended 1946, c.185, s.3; 1953, c.34, s.2; 1977, c.60; 1991, c.91, s.367; 2006, c.103, s.10.