New Jersey Marriage Laws
37:1-4 - Issuance of marriage or civil union license, emergencies, validity
Except as provided in R.S.37:1-6, the marriage or civil union license shall not be issued by a licensing officer sooner than 72 hours after the application therefor has been made; provided, however, that the Superior Court may, by order, waive all or any part of said 72-hour period in cases of emergency, upon satisfactory proof being shown to it. Said order shall be filed with the licensing officer and attached to the application for the license. A marriage or civil union license, when properly issued as provided in this article, shall be good and valid only for 30 days after the date of the issuance thereof.◀︎ Back to New Jersey Marriage Laws ︎︎︎︎︎◀︎ Back to Marriage Laws Home
Amended 1946, c.185, s.1; 1953, c.34, s.1; 1955, c.61; 1991, c.91, s.366; 2006, c.103, s.9.