GET ORDAINED

Maryland Family Law 2-301

Marriage of individual 16 or 17 years old; marriage of individual under the age of 16 years

(a) An individual 16 or 17 years old may not marry unless: (1) the individual has the consent of a parent or guardian and the parent or guardian swears that the individual is at least 16 years old; or (2) if the individual does not have the consent of a parent or guardian, either party to be married gives the clerk a certificate from a licensed physician, licensed physician assistant, or certified nurse practitioner stating that the physician, physician assistant, or nurse practitioner has examined the woman to be married and has found that she is pregnant or has given birth to a child. (b) An individual 15 years old may not marry unless: (1) the individual has the consent of a parent or guardian; and (2) either party to be married gives the clerk a certificate from a licensed physician, licensed physician assistant, or certified nurse practitioner stating that the physician, physician assistant, or nurse practitioner has examined the woman to be married and has found that she is pregnant or has given birth to a child. (c) An individual under the age of 15 may not marry. <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<< (Beginning October 1, 2022: ) (a) Marriage of individual 17 years old. -- An individual 17 years old may not marry unless: (I) the individual has the consent of each living parent, guardian, or legal custodian of the individual; or (II) if the individual does not have the consent required under item (I) of this item, either party to be married gives the clerk a certificate from a licensed physician, licensed physician assistant, or certified nurse practitioner stating that the physician, physician assistant, or nurse practitioner has examined the woman to be married and has found that she is pregnant or has given birth to a child; and 2. The individual presents a certified copy of an order granting authorization to marry in accordance with the provisions of Title 5, Subtitle 2A of this article to the clerk of the circuit court not earlier than 15 days after the order was issued. (b) An individual under the age of 17 may not marry.

An. Code 1957, art. 62, § 9; 1984, ch. 296, § 2; 1999, ch. 231 ; 2008, chs. 232 , 233 ; 2013, chs. 273 , 274 ., Amended April 2022 HB83


Back to Maryland Marriage Laws

More Maryland Marriage Laws



Marriage Laws by State

Professional Wedding Officiant Certification Course

Learn from the Pros to Officiate with Confidence!

Who Will Officiate Your Wedding?

Choose Your Officiant with our "Will You Marry Us?" Gift Package.

Signature Wedding Officiant Package

Our premiere package contains everyting you need to officiate like a pro.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter!

Checkout the AMM Blog

Stay up-to-date with the latest wedding industry trends.

Sample Wedding Ceremony Scripts

Need inspiration? Check out our free ceremony scripts!

Wedding Officiant Training

Wedding Officiant Training

Everything you need to know to officiate.

MORE Maryland OFFICIANT RESOURCES

GET ORDAINED
WITH AMM

Become a Wedding Officiant with Our Free Online Ordination!