Gresham, Oregon Wedding Guide
Become a Wedding Officiant in Gresham as an AMM Ordained Minister. Learn more about getting ordained in Oregon, officiant training, wedding ceremony planning, and more.
17,481AMM MINISTERS IN
If you are looking to get married or officiate a wedding just outside of Portland, Gresham Oregon is a great, cost-effective option. Despite being a large city, Gresham has a down-home vibe and great outdoor destinations. A few beers at a local bar or trying the variety of cultural cuisines will take your dollar a lot further in Gresham, when compared to bougie Portland next door.
So, let’s get you prepared with everything you need to know for a smooth and legal registration process in Gresham.
In the state of Oregon, it is legal for clergy members, judges, county clerks, and ministers of religious organizations to sign a marriage license. To become an official AMM minister, simply sign up on our website. The ordination process is one hundred percent free, and should only take you a couple of minutes to complete.
Officiating a wedding ceremony can seem like a pretty daunting task, especially if it's your first time. If you need help in writing the script or just getting a few brainstorming tips, be sure to check out our wedding training pages. These will give you a simple guide to help you gain confidence for the ceremony.
It is the sole responsibility of the couple to obtain the marriage license application which can be found on the Multnomah County Clerk’s website. A three-day waiting period is required after approval of the marriage license, and once it goes into effect, will expire after sixty days. If you wish to waive the waiting period, an additional $5.00 is required.
Make an appointment with the Multnomah County Clerk’s office and make sure to plan this far enough in advance in case of any scheduling inconveniences. Once you have an appointment, make sure to bring the necessary legal documents with you, such as a valid ID, a $60 cashier’s check, or money order made out to Multnomah County Marriage Licenses. And of course, don’t forget the completely filled out marriage application.
Business hours at the County Clerk’s office are Monday to Friday from 8:30 am to 4:30 pm. You will be able to contact them either by email ([email protected]) or telephone at (503) 988-3226.
When you go, don’t forget to bring
Issuance Office: 501 SE Hawthorne Blvd., Portland OR 97214
Waiting Period: 24 Hours
For The Couple
Not only is Gresham great for its cultural diversity and array of ethnic foods, but the wedding venues here will also be cheaper than downtown Portland. If you want some spectacular views of a well-maintained golf course with fine dining and fantastic service, we would highly recommend the Persimmon Country Club. If you are planning a night out on the dance floor, the Cedarville Lodge is the best venue for tangoing the night away.
For getting around the Portland area, the MAX light rail is your best option for a fast, reliable experience. Otherwise, public buses run regularly and rideshare services such as Uber and Lift should be readily available.
Summers in Gresham, Oregon is warm and sunny with temperatures reaching the mid-eighties. Winters, on the other hand, tend to be cool, wet, and rainy, with average temperatures in the mid-forties.
Are witnesses required to be present at the marriage ceremony?
Yes, a legal ceremony consists of at least five people; the officiant, two witnesses, and the bride and groom
What if I wish to waive the three-day waiting period?
You must bring an extra $5.00 to the County Clerk’s office on submission of the marriage application
Are online ordained ministers recognized in the State of Oregon?
Yes. All officially online ordained ministers are recognized in Oregon.
Become a Wedding Officiant with Our Free Online Ordination!