10 Essential Facts to Know Before Officiating a Wedding in Minnesota
The facts below cover all the important aspects of what requirements you need to meet to be able to legally officiate a wedding ceremony in Minnesota.
Who Can Officiate Weddings in Minnesota?
This is the relevant exerpt from the Minnesota Statutes § 517.04.
" Marriages may be solemnized throughout the state by an individual who has attained the age of 21 years and is a judge of a court of record, a retired judge of a court of record, a court administrator, a retired court administrator with the approval of the chief judge of the judicial district, a former court commissioner who is employed by the court system or is acting pursuant to an order of the chief judge of the commissioner's judicial district, the residential school administrators of the Minnesota State Academy for the Deaf and the Minnesota State Academy for the Blind, a licensed or ordained minister of any religious denomination, or by any mode recognized in section 517.18. "
Basically, this means that as long as you are ordained through any church, you can officiate weddings.
Are Online Ordinations Recognized in Minnesota?
Yes. All online ordained ministers, including those ordained through AMM are recognized in Minnesota.
Get Ordained Now
Is Government Registration Required to Officiate a Wedding in Minnesota?
Yes. All officiants in Minnesota must register with a Local County Registrar before they officiate a wedding.
What Office Do I Register with Before Officiating a Wedding in Minnesota?
The Local County Registrar in Minnesota is responsible for officiant registration.
What is the Minimum Legal Age to Officiate a Wedding in Minnesota?
All Wedding Officiants in Minnesota must be at least 21 years old.
Does my Residency Affect the Registration Process?
No. Your state or country of residence is irrelevant to the officiant registration process in Minnesota.
Does the Minnesota Government Provide an Application I Need to Complete?
Contact Local Office.
This is up to the discretion of each Local County Registrar.
Do I Need to Submit Proof of my Ministry Credentials to the Minnesota Government?
Yes. You are required to submit an official copy of your Ministry Credentials to the Local County Registrar.
How Much Does the Officiant Registration Process Cost in Minnesota?
It will cost you about $50 to register as a wedding officiant in Minnesota.
How Long Does it Take to Register as a Wedding Officiant in Minnesota?
Depends. We recommend that you begin your registration Up To 30 Days before the wedding.
For a more detailed guide on how to complete the officiant registration process in Minnesota, check out our Minnesota Officiant Registration page by clicking the button below.