10 Essential Facts to Know Before Officiating a Wedding in Louisiana
The facts below cover all the important aspects of what requirements you need to meet to be able to legally officiate a wedding ceremony in Louisiana.
Who Can Officiate Weddings in Louisiana?
This is the relevant exerpt from the Louisiana Revised Statutes §202
" A marriage ceremony may be performed by:
(1) A priest, minister, rabbi, clerk of the Religious Society of Friends, or any clergyman of any religious sect, who is authorized by the authorities of his religion to perform marriages, and who is registered to perform marriages;
(2) A state judge or justice of the peace.
Basically, this means that as long as you are ordained through any church, you can officiate weddings.
Are Online Ordinations Recognized in Louisiana?
Yes. All online ordained ministers, including those ordained through AMM are recognized in Louisiana.
Get Ordained Now
Is Government Registration Required to Officiate a Wedding in Louisiana?
Yes. All officiants in Louisiana must register with the Local Parish Clerk before they officiate a wedding. This must be the Clerk in the jurisdiction where the wedding is taking place.
What Office Do I Register with Before Officiating a Wedding in Louisiana?
The Local Parish Clerk in Louisiana is responsible for officiant registration.
What is the Minimum Legal Age to Officiate a Wedding in Louisiana?
All Wedding Officiants in Louisiana must be at least 18 years old.
Does my Residency Affect the Registration Process?
No. Your state or country of residence is irrelevant to the officiant registration process in Louisiana.
Does the Louisiana Government Provide an Application I Need to Complete?
Yes. You must complete and submit the Louisiana Marriage Officiant Registration Affidavit.
Do I Need to Submit Proof of my Ministry Credentials to the Louisiana Government?
Yes. You are required to submit an official copy of your Ministry Credentials to the Local Parish Clerk.
How Much Does the Officiant Registration Process Cost in Louisiana?
It will cost you about $50 to register as a wedding officiant in Louisiana.
How Long Does it Take to Register as a Wedding Officiant in Louisiana?
Depends. We recommend that you begin your registration at least 30 days before the wedding.
For a more detailed guide on how to complete the officiant registration process in Louisiana, check out our Louisiana Officiant Registration page by clicking the button below.