North Carolina Marriage Laws

51?7 - Penalty for solemnizing without license


Related Pages

APPLY FOR ORDINATION

North Carolina General Statutes ? Chapter 51: Marriage ? Article 2: Marriage Licenses

Penalty for solemnizing without license


Every minister, officer, or any other person authorized to solemnize a marriage under the laws of this State, who marries any couple without a license being first delivered to that person, as required by law, or after the expiration of such license, or who fails to return such license to the register of deeds within 10 days after any marriage celebrated by virtue thereof, with the certificate appended thereto duly filled up and signed, shall forfeit and pay two hundred dollars ($200.00) to any person who sues therefore, and shall also be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.

◀︎ Back to North Carolina Marriage Laws ︎︎︎︎︎◀︎ Back to Marriage Laws Home



(R.C., c. 68, ss. 6, 13; 1871?2, c. 193, s. 8; Code, s. 1817; Rev., ss. 2087, 3372; C.S., s. 2499; 1953, c. 638, s. 1; 1967, c. 957, s. 5; 1993, c. 539, s. 415; 1994, Ex. Sess., c. 24, s. 14(c); 2001?62, s. 7.)


Law Reference:
51?7

solemnization of marriage

Law Tag:
solemnization of marriage



Will You
Marry Us?

The wedding gift package revolutionizing how you choose your officiant!

Learn More

Signature
Wedding Officiant Package

Everything you need to Officiate Weddings like pro!

Learn More

Minister Ordination
Package

Our most popular package contains everything you need to officiate your first wedding.

Order Now

Ocean
Conservancy

AMM supports Ocean Conservancy. Check them out!

Donate Now
APPLY FOR ORDINATION