All states have different laws governing the window of time during which the marriage license is valid and can be signed.
For example in Georgia the marriage license never expires, meaning the couple could file for the license many months in advance of the wedding date, though once the marriage license is signed it has to be returned within 30 days of the wedding.
In Texas on the other hand, the couple is granted the marriage license immediately but must wait 3 days before it can be legally completed.
You can check out our state marriage license table for more information on your State's laws regarding marriage license issuance, waiting period, expiration, and return.
If you need more clarification on what these terms mean, check out our page on the marriage license waiting period, return, and expiration.
Become a Wedding Officiant with Our Free Online Ordination!