Chesapeake County, Virginia

Marriage License and Minister Licensing Information

Where to file for a marriage license and minister licensing requirements in Chesapeake County, Virginia.

For the Couple

The following information is for couples who want to file for their marriage license in Chesapeake County, Virginia

Marriage License Info

Cost: $30-50

Waiting Period: None

Expiration: 60 Days

Return: 5 Days from Wedding

Marriage License Issuing Office

Chesapeake Circuit Court
307 Albemarle Dr Suite 300A
Chesapeake, VA 23322-5579

Phone: (757) 382-3000
Hours: 8am-4pm M-F
Official Website - Google Maps - Goverment Office Information

For the Minister

The following information is for AMM ministers who want to know what the minister licensing requirements are in Chesapeake County, Virginia

Minister Licensing Summary

Minister Licensing Requirements: Minister Required to Register with County

Minimum Minimum Age: 18 Years

Minister's Residency: Irrelevant

Same Sex Marriage Recognized: Yes

Minister Licensing Office

Chesapeake Circuit Court
307 Albemarle Dr Suite 300A
Chesapeake, VA 23322-5579

Phone: (757) 382-3000
Hours: 8am-4pm M-F
Official Website - Google Maps - Goverment Office Information

Minister Licensing Steps

* Please Read *

Since May 24th, 2010, many County Clerks in Virginia have systematically denied ministers ordained by way of the internet the right to perform marriage. Many clerks cite a letter written by an Opinions Counsel of the Attorney General's Office as justification to refuse the review of applications from ministers ordained online.

While some County Clerks may agree with the opinions expressed within the Opinions Counsel letter, it is not settled case law and as defined by Virginia Code § 2.2-505, it carries no legal weight. County Clerks do not have the authority to judge the validity of your credentials or implement their interpretation of the law.

It is our position that all ministers have the right to perform marriage in Virginia. Officiant registration can be complicated, but there are County Clerks that do not discriminate and will happily process the applications of AMM Ministers.

American Marriage Ministries has instituted a policy of providing ministers with all the appropriate documents for registration at no cost. Contact us if you would like to attempt to register to perform a marriage in Virginia.

It is important to note:

You do not need to register with your local County Clerk's office or the office that issues the couple's the marriage license. Authorization from any county grants you the authority to perform marriage throughout Virginia.

All ministers in Virginia are required to register with the County Clerk's office before performing marriage. You do not need to register with the same office that issues the marriage license to the couple - successful registration with one County Clerk's office grants you the authority to perform marriage anywhere in Virginia.

You do not need to be a Virginia resident though you must be at least 18 years of age to qualify to perform marriage. Same-sex marriages are recognized in Virginia.

Application Instructions

As ministerial registration is done at the county level, the application fee and registration requirements vary. We recommend that you contact the County Clerk's office to find out what their exact licensing steps are:

Chesapeake Circuit Court
307 Albemarle Dr Suite 300A
Chesapeake, VA 23322-5579

Phone: (757) 382-3000
Hours: 8am-4pm M-F
Official Website - Google Maps - Goverment Office Information

Once you are clear what is required of you, Contact us and we will provide you with a free Virginia Minister Licensing Package, including all the documents that we can provide in assisting with your application. Don't hesitate to contact us if have questions on any of the forms provided by the County Clerk's office.

If your application is denied by the County Clerk's office you can still conduct the wedding ceremony. The only thing you will not legally be able to do is sign the marriage license. The Virginia government has no authority over the ceremony, only the marriage license. The marriage license can be completed at the courthouse, separating that from the wedding celebration, which you can still conduct.

Loading